pastels and more


I am thinking that perhaps spring is really going to happen in Walla Walla this year! It has been a cold, unpredictable year thus far with snow at the beginning of April!
The show at Le Chateau Winery is up; the reception on the 11th with a great turn out. Angela, who manages the winery tasting room is wonderful to work with hanging shows. She does a nice job of advertising the openings, etc.
I recently was surfing the web and came across a quote relating to my work from a show in 2008 at the Waterbrook Winery. I did some research and tracked it back to a quilter from Idaho – a quilter who does amazing art quilts. Check out Idahobeauty on my list of blogs that I follow.
New work…another of the Walla Walla River called River Dance….the river in late fall, after some snow as the last light of day reflects on the water.
A goold email today from Kelly from Kelly’s on Main Gallery in Joseph, OR wanting more work which I will happily get to her when I go to Joseph for the Festival of Art there in June. That is a great show to attend. There is so much quality art that comes to Joseph for 3 days. All the energy those folks have to put on a fun and quality event!
It’s late; I’m tired…maybe I can be profound in another blog!

About bonnie griffith

I am a landscape artist who works in pastels, oils and acrylics. My work focuses on representational studies of the western US. I am basically self taught with lots of workshops and studies with several landscape artists such as Bruce Haughey and Clark Elster. I live in southwestern Idaho, am a native Montanan with a strong connection to the land. I spend as much time as I can in MT painting as well other parts of the northwest. I appreciate getting out in the field and working plein air because there is nothing like completing a painting in the true light of day and visually not being compromised by the use of a photo. In my work, my goal is to produce a piece of work that draws the viewer into the painting and challenges them to explore the scene; get a sense of the time of day, the temperature, the light or lack of. If I have gotten that viewer to step out of their reality and into that painting and enjoy it, then my work was accomplished as I wished. View all posts by bonnie griffith

One response to “pastels and more

Leave a Reply

