a daily dose


Another daily dose of a variation of the landscape. Not particularly a favorite; but a color combination nonetheless. I love to look at the variations of the skies that Albert Handell and Elizabeth Mawry do. Bold, unusual…oh, but I have seen those colors!!
Looking into the art walk in Sand Point for 2010-at least I have done as much as requested an application…which is the biggest step!
I am also including in this blog one of the demo pieces I did at the workshop this weekend. A couple of the students had purchased prints of Ochre Fields and were wanting to understand how that painting was accomplished. So…we painted some trees and brushy fields with a hint of snow not yet melted.
Life is good when there is art in it, I must say 🙂
About bonnie griffith

I am a landscape artist who works in pastels, oils and acrylics. My work focuses on representational studies of the western US. I am basically self taught with lots of workshops and studies with several landscape artists such as Bruce Haughey and Clark Elster. I live in southwestern Idaho, am a native Montanan with a strong connection to the land. I spend as much time as I can in MT painting as well other parts of the northwest. I appreciate getting out in the field and working plein air because there is nothing like completing a painting in the true light of day and visually not being compromised by the use of a photo. In my work, my goal is to produce a piece of work that draws the viewer into the painting and challenges them to explore the scene; get a sense of the time of day, the temperature, the light or lack of. If I have gotten that viewer to step out of their reality and into that painting and enjoy it, then my work was accomplished as I wished. View all posts by bonnie griffith

One response to “a daily dose

  • The Idaho Beauty

    Good for you, Bonnie. I know you will be stunned at how simple applying for ArtWalk will be. I suppose the hardest part is choosing which art to feature with the application. Maybe easier for you than me since your work is more unified than mine. I think you have an excellent chance at making it in.

    Like

Leave a Reply

