…and they all (don’t) look the same…little pictures…


This is why I like purples. It adds such a depth and intensity to a painting. I don’t remember without going out and looking at the number of this one…but it’s a Unison purple…I think from the “dark” collection. It is a definite shadow color. then lay it next to some oranges and goldens and you have that complimentary thing going on.
So I have an invite, thanks to my Chris who is always looking out for his Mom and some place to show her work, at the quick draw event at the Miles City Bucking Horse Sale in May. This is a huge event for this eastern Montana town. It’s like the Pendleton roundup in Pendleton, OR…The visitors for the event greatly outnumber the residents of these towns. Anyway, he knows somebody who knows somebody who made the invite to me. This is a big challenge. I love doing quick draws…but this one is one half an hour to complete! Many that I do are a hour in time to complete the painting. Well, it won’t be 24×30 in size! After drawing is complete, you have 10 minutes to put the paintings in a frame and it’s then ready for the auction! Looking forward to this!
Happy painting!
About bonnie griffith

I am a landscape artist who works in pastels, oils and acrylics. My work focuses on representational studies of the western US. I am basically self taught with lots of workshops and studies with several landscape artists such as Bruce Haughey and Clark Elster. I live in southwestern Idaho, am a native Montanan with a strong connection to the land. I spend as much time as I can in MT painting as well other parts of the northwest. I appreciate getting out in the field and working plein air because there is nothing like completing a painting in the true light of day and visually not being compromised by the use of a photo. In my work, my goal is to produce a piece of work that draws the viewer into the painting and challenges them to explore the scene; get a sense of the time of day, the temperature, the light or lack of. If I have gotten that viewer to step out of their reality and into that painting and enjoy it, then my work was accomplished as I wished. View all posts by bonnie griffith

Leave a Reply

