Pastel Dust


 

                        So the dust doesn’t settle at this time of year.  Only there is more plain old dust than pastel dust with all the activities of the season.  I did spend some time today in my studio  space surrounded by boxes of pastels and paper and finished up a piece that I have been working on for some time. 

My next project is getting some images for Snow White.  I nearly have the poster ready and will be working on the backdrops for the production shortly.  I am a landscape artist, but I could easily be persuaded to draw and create art for children’s books.

 The images I have posted today are a couple of favorites from a show a few years ago.  The wheat fields sold before it got in the door and Fields Purple took a little while to sell, but it has been one of the most inquired about pieces on my website.  Both were done on Wallis paper with under paintings.  They are both good reminders to not overwork the paper, be strategic  in thinking through ones project.

We held our annual Open Studio the first weekend of December during the local wine Barrel Tasting event.  Traffic was good through the open which I was pleased about.  Advertising for the event was only done with social media sites and flyers sent to our client list.  We did not use the newspaper or put up posters.  It just proved that sites like Facebook and blogs are really  a global source for events!  So with this in mind and the fact that I attended a seminar on blogging and the use of the social media yesterday, confirms my belief in the way we need to market our artistic endeavors is going to be through social networking and online sites.  The sheer numbers of people who have to opportunity to see your work is beyond comprehension when it is posted online.

I expect to get started in earnest with the “50 off the 90” series shortly.  I anticipated that I would have a few pieces completed by now, but the holidays take a precidence…so I think January is a good target date to begin the series!  Besides that, there is a little area outside of Ellensburg that I want to take the time to explore a little and get some reference photos of.   I think it is the Yakima River in that area that has got my interest to meander around and see what’s out there “off the 90!”

With that being said, I am wishing you all a splendid holiday season and all the inspirations you need to good painting in 2011!!  Pastel artists…we are soon going to be posting the prospectus for the Northwest Pastel Society show in April at the Kirsten Gallery in Seattle.  Membership is needed for that show, but any pastel artist is welcome to join the group!  Happy painting….

 

About bonnie griffith

I am a landscape artist who works in pastels, oils and acrylics. My work focuses on representational studies of the western US. I am basically self taught with lots of workshops and studies with several landscape artists such as Bruce Haughey and Clark Elster. I live in southwestern Idaho, am a native Montanan with a strong connection to the land. I spend as much time as I can in MT painting as well other parts of the northwest. I appreciate getting out in the field and working plein air because there is nothing like completing a painting in the true light of day and visually not being compromised by the use of a photo. In my work, my goal is to produce a piece of work that draws the viewer into the painting and challenges them to explore the scene; get a sense of the time of day, the temperature, the light or lack of. If I have gotten that viewer to step out of their reality and into that painting and enjoy it, then my work was accomplished as I wished. View all posts by bonnie griffith

Leave a Reply

