Spring is in the air…I am looking out my window and thinking that winter is about over in my world.  When you go outside there is that smell of early spring in the air and I love it!  More sun, warmer, more color…I am working still on some small 6×6 inch images;  winter, fall,spring and summer.   I really like how these look in a 3″ wide frames.  I am not sure how many I will do in this format, but quite a few I think.  Some of my galleries love these smaller sizes – they are simple, not too expensive and patrons seem to be more impulsive about buying them – probably due to the cost.

 I noticed driving to Seattle a week ago that the  willows have started to change.  I don’t know the varieties of willows, but some are orange and some more yellow at this time of year.  I guess it is that first sign of spring that gets me wanting to paint creeks and rivers with those bright bold colors.

The images I posted today are from a trip to Seattle in November and the bright snowy one from the New Year’s Day drive up the Coppei.  I have painted the river before.  This time I painted it on Wallis paper as opposed to Canson.  There is a big difference in the “look”.  On this one you can see more layers of pastel, it is a little looser painted and maybe a little more vibrant in some ways.

The painting of the Coppei draw lets one see how the sun peeks in and around things to lighten only certain spots of the mountain country and lets you have a glimpse of the old stubble wheat, high  on the hills that are farmed in SE WA.

The grayish farm buildings and field in the foreground is so similar to many farms you see along I-90 and I-84 along the way to Seattle.  I am always interested in patterns and plowed fields with a little snow give interesting lines.  And as our winters often are; there is a gray, slightly foggy overcast to the day. A good orange base coat is an easy way to get some effect of stubble rows in a field in winter under snow.  This is when I then spray the very foreground with a workable fix to darken the orange and then  bring the “white” of the snow over it.

I spent some time yesterday going through files of reference photos and came up with a good fresh stack for proposed work.  I have decided on doing some work for a gallery that I am labelling “Seasons”.  So some of the winter scenes will fit into that body of work.

So today I am working on a new piece 12×16 that has some “weather” in it!  Time to get after it…happy painting!

About bonnie griffith

I am a landscape artist who works in pastels, oils and acrylics. My work focuses on representational studies of the western US. I am basically self taught with lots of workshops and studies with several landscape artists such as Bruce Haughey and Clark Elster. I live in southwestern Idaho, am a native Montanan with a strong connection to the land. I spend as much time as I can in MT painting as well other parts of the northwest. I appreciate getting out in the field and working plein air because there is nothing like completing a painting in the true light of day and visually not being compromised by the use of a photo. In my work, my goal is to produce a piece of work that draws the viewer into the painting and challenges them to explore the scene; get a sense of the time of day, the temperature, the light or lack of. If I have gotten that viewer to step out of their reality and into that painting and enjoy it, then my work was accomplished as I wished. View all posts by bonnie griffith

Leave a Reply

