More Pastel Dust…some inside dust…


Maybe you know this already.  I am an artist…who sells real estate.  My husband and I are partners in business at Windermere Walla Walla and we also work as a team in the art world.  I paint and he frames.  That is HUGE!   We juggle our two lives pretty well –  and the nature of both businesses lets me focus  on each more than adequately.  It is always fun to go out on our Broker tours and be reviewing a property and walk into a room and there is one of your paintings hanging!  For a part of one morning a week the brokers in our office all go out on “broker tour” and it is fun to stop a moment and critique my art when we find it. Or someone elses…:-)   That’s the inside dust…

Now on to some images and what they are about…

I am interested in roads and streams and railroad tracks.  Things that lead you somewhere…something that would have a story to tell if they could.  Who has traveled that road? paddled down that stream or rode the rails to St. Louis or Chicago.

I think about the rail roads and the part they played in commerce in earlier part of the 20th century.  My grandparents were homesteaders in Montana; both from Chicago and the environs of Illinois.  They raised cattle in the fall my grandfather would trail the stock they were selling about 40 miles to the railroad and then put them on the train and ship them (He rode along) to Chicago to be sold…1200-ish miles!    this was in the 1920’s and 30’s.  I think he went along to make sure the cattle  were able to unloaded from the cars and fed and watered at periodic stops and then to get them to the Chicago Stock Yards for selling.  So when I see some old tracks that have been abandoned or like in our area, used very infrequently, I have to stop and wonder what tales those rails could tell, if they could!  So sometimes I just have to paint tracks and roads and streams.

One day last fall my friend Bambi and I went out to paint and actually didn’t put a pastel to the paper.  Instead we just started shooting images of the area where her family farms.  And there were tracks and roads and streams, so we got some great reference photos.  These paintings are a result from this trip.  Oh yeah, and the other thing of interest…shadows.  I like to get some drama in the painting with some good shadows.  Late fall sun in the afternoon gets one some great shadows.  Our hills are big and steep in the foothills of the Blues and north to the Snake River, allowing dramatic shadows to present in that late afternoon sun and it makes for an interesting composition.

These were all done on Art Spectrum board which has a good ground and works well with Unison, Sennelier Diane Townsend and  Schmincke pastels.

I hope you enjoyed this post….happy painting

About bonnie griffith

I am a landscape artist who works in pastels, oils and acrylics. My work focuses on representational studies of the western US. I am basically self taught with lots of workshops and studies with several landscape artists such as Bruce Haughey and Clark Elster. I live in southwestern Idaho, am a native Montanan with a strong connection to the land. I spend as much time as I can in MT painting as well other parts of the northwest. I appreciate getting out in the field and working plein air because there is nothing like completing a painting in the true light of day and visually not being compromised by the use of a photo. In my work, my goal is to produce a piece of work that draws the viewer into the painting and challenges them to explore the scene; get a sense of the time of day, the temperature, the light or lack of. If I have gotten that viewer to step out of their reality and into that painting and enjoy it, then my work was accomplished as I wished. View all posts by bonnie griffith

Leave a Reply

