Pastel Dust on the Road…


              Last  Wednesday I embarked on a journey to painting and drawing in various areas.  First stop was the plein air event “Plein Air Palouse” in Moscow, ID.  For 3 days 25 painters spent time out and about in the heart of the Palouse painting rural and urban scenes in and around Moscow.  This was the 2nd plein air event for Moscow and they are an enthusiastic, warm, welcoming group.  Thursday  I drove north of Moscow toward Potlatch looking for my landscape representational of the Palouse.  Driving down Walker Road, I found it.  At the top a hill was an ideal plein air painting spot…a nice place to pull over, some stacked old bales of hay and a view looking north of fields, hills, barns and timber that is characteristic of the Palouse.  I pulled over and  painted a 12×16 of a view finders cropped field of view of the valley.  About 3 hours later, I am satisfied with the result.  I snapped several photos of the area for future paintings and headed back to Moscow, happy with the painting    expedition!                                       Friday morning I decided to paint urban and wanted to paint some historic building.  Like many small towns, Moscow has a Carnegie Library with unique architecture and style.  And the beautiful thing is, when they decided they needed more space, they didn’t  destroy the original building, they added onto it but kept the itegrity of the original building.  So this sort of Tuscan style building sits on the corner of Jefferson and 2nd in all is originial glory.  I paint it.  While I am there painting in the shade and solitude of the Library, the reporter and photographer from the Daily News come by and spend 20-30 minutes visiting and taking photos of me painting.  Saturday morning  one of the photos and a really good article about the plein air event and me graced the front page and more of the paper.                                                                                                                                                                                                     Late Friday I drove up to the U of I campus and parked in a parking area currently abandoned, but with a great view of the  U of I farm.  There are a series of beautiful, well maintained barns and I wanted to paint them in the evening light.  I did a 9×12 of the large barn and horses under a coral tinged sky.  I was pretty happy with the results, put it in a frame and forgot to photograph it.

Saturday was spent at the Farmer’s Market downtown.  I did a bunch of sketching and photos.  Great people watching!  In the afternoon all the paintings were delivered to City Hall to hang in their gallery complete with reception.  It was a great time and lots of discussion ensued regarding the event and how to improve it.  The enthusiasm of the group is one thing that needs no improvement.  They are gracious hosts and willing to help the artists as they could.  Kudos to Kathleen and DJ.  The best thing was meeting several new artists and visiting with them about our works.

So this was the first stop on my art quest journey.  I leave Moscow Sunday and head south to UT with a couple of stops along the way…More photos of my journey will be posted on Facebook

About bonnie griffith

I am a landscape artist who works in pastels, oils and acrylics. My work focuses on representational studies of the western US. I am basically self taught with lots of workshops and studies with several landscape artists such as Bruce Haughey and Clark Elster. I live in southwestern Idaho, am a native Montanan with a strong connection to the land. I spend as much time as I can in MT painting as well other parts of the northwest. I appreciate getting out in the field and working plein air because there is nothing like completing a painting in the true light of day and visually not being compromised by the use of a photo. In my work, my goal is to produce a piece of work that draws the viewer into the painting and challenges them to explore the scene; get a sense of the time of day, the temperature, the light or lack of. If I have gotten that viewer to step out of their reality and into that painting and enjoy it, then my work was accomplished as I wished. View all posts by bonnie griffith

Leave a Reply

